English Books I Liked From School

Greetings!

Having read tons of literature while back in my schooling years (namely, high school and college), I would have to say that, while not all of them have particularly interested me, there were admittedly a few of them which have stayed close with me, even after all of these years.

I admit, it’s kind of sad to be looking back, especially now that I don’t really read much anymore. By reading, I mean actually sitting down and reading a good novel. Ever since graduating college in my degree in English, I’ve only since touched, let alone cracked open, a couple of books for pleasure; in fact, I would say that the last good book that I’ve read was Stardust by Neil Gaiman (definitely recommend, by the way), and that was back in August. Since then, moving to France and working, along with a rather busy freelance-writing gig on the side, I haven’t had the time, let alone the motivation, to purchase and read a book. Kind of sad, since I feel like I’m getting dumber by not stimulating my mind, and seriously, I’ll have to make it my goal this year to read at least a few more books, whether in English or in French.

Any case, before I digress even further, I want to list a few of the books that I actually enjoyed reading for school back in the day. It’s interesting that I say so, just because the academic pressure of the school setting itself can really suck the fun out of a book, just by over-analyzing every single word and looking for symbolism in things that, well, don’t mean anything to begin with. I’ve written something similar in this post a year or so ago, but this one will solely focused on the ones I’ve read in school. Granted, there will be some overlap, but all the same, they remain my favorites! I’ll include short stories and plays (heck, even poetry collections!) which I enjoyed as well.

Let’s get started, shall we?

English Books I Liked From School

1. American Primitive– Mary Oliver.

2. A Streetcar Named Desire– Tennessee Williams.

3. “Bartleby, the Scrivener: A Story of Wall Street”- Herman Melville.

4. Catcher in the Rye– J.D. Salinger.

5. from unincorporated territory [saina]– Craig Santos Perez.

6. Of Mice and Men– John Steinbeck.

7. Othello– William Shakespeare.

8. Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes– Chris Crutcher.

9. Seventeen Syllables and Other Stories– Hisaye Yamamoto.

10. The Tempest- William Shakespeare (normally, I’m not a huge fan of Shakespeare’s works, but Othello and The Tempest really did it for me!).

11. To Kill a Mockingbird– Harper Lee.

What were your favorite books you read from school? Let me know!

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

9 thoughts on “English Books I Liked From School

  1. themusingidealist

    Were you an English writing of lit major? My favorite book from high school was My Antonia, I think. I don’t remember many. I hated school and had awful lit teachers. They do suck the life out of the books, like you said. I guess that’s why I became a lit teacher. I don’t obsess over details with my students. We all sit with the tables in squares and I ask a big question about the previous night’s reading. We talk about that question the whole time. It’s a blast and they even teach me a ton.

    1. Yes, I majored in English literature back in college. I’ve never read My Antonia, but it’s on my list of books to read, should I ever get to it! Most of my English teachers in high school weren’t all that great, but I’ve had some good professors in college who made me appreciate reading again. 🙂

    1. Nice! Roald Dahl is a good writer; I’ve read James and the Giant Peach, but not BFG. However, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory will remain my favorite (even if it’s the most popular and over-adapted out of Dahl’s works!).

Leave a Reply

