Woman Crush Saturday: Lana del Rey

Greetings!

Welcome to this month’s “Woman Crush fill-in-the-day-here,” in which I show my current female celebrity crush. Thought that I would get an early start for the month of March, so let’s get to it!

Technically, I’ve had a crush on Lana del Rey for over five years now, ever since she burst upon the music scene in late 2011/early 2012 with her Born to Die album and notoriously-bad performance on SNL (we forgive her, though). With that sultry voice and equally-sultry, 60’s-style beauty, there’s no denying that Lana del Rey is smoking hot. 

Taken from Billboard.

I was in college when del Rey became mainstream famous, and I was obsessed with her Born to Die album. Seriously, I would put it on repeat during my weekend commute back home; some of my favorites were “Born to Die,” “Off to the Races,” and “National Anthem.” Later, I discovered her earlier work, back when she was under the name “Lizzy Grant” (her real name’s Elizabeth Grant). Her debut album, Lana Del Ray a.k.a. Lizzy Grant, had some pretty good stuff on there, too, with tracks such as “Raise Me Up (Mississippi South),” “Mermaid Hotel,” and “Brite Lights” my weak spots. Even though she wasn’t “Lana del Rey” back then, her music still sounded similar (albeit a bit grungier), with its sultry, hypnotic vibe to it.

Taken from The Gloss.

I admit, I haven’t gotten around to listening to her other EPs and albums after Born to Die (e.g. Paradise, Ultraviolence, Honeymoon). But with her recent single from her upcoming album, “Love,” I fell in love with her again (literally). She’s definitely come a long way since Born to Die, having faced a lot of criticism and controversy for her public image, and I think with every album she makes, she gets better and better.

…plus, that wink, that smile…I died right there. ❤

Taken from Tumblr.

Give her lots of love, will you? Enjoy your weekend!

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

3 thoughts on “Woman Crush Saturday: Lana del Rey

  1. Pingback: Lana del Rey- Born to Die (SSJ #43) – The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

