My Favorite Types of Tea

Hello, bloggers!

Now, if you know anything about me (or rather, live with me), then you probably know that I’m a bit too obsessed with tea- drinking the tea, that is. From the deliciously calming aroma to the diversity of types out there, I really do enjoy my “cuppa” (as the British calls it) at least once a day.

Having grown up in an bilingual household (English and Chinese) in an Anglophone country as that of the United States, I’ve been exposed to all sorts of teas, from that in both Western and Eastern cultures. Whether it’s that of the old-school Chinese oolong to the British Earl Grey, you can bet that I’ve tried them all.

That said, just what are my favorite types of tea? Even though I’ve tried a variety of them so far in my life, I would have to say that I’m quite picky when it comes to certain kinds of them. Generally speaking, I’m not a huge fan of fruity infusions, since I found them to be quite strange in taste (sweet and bitter don’t bode well for my taste buds). Also find some teas such as Earl Grey to be way too caffeinated, which not only detracts from the flavor’s subtlety, but also incites me, erm, use the toilet more.

Any case, I’ve decided to compile a list of my favorite teas. Perhaps if you’re an avid tea drinker like me, you might find yours on the list!

Cheers!

7 Favorite Types of Tea

Taken from Dr. Oz.

1. Oolong. Growing up in a Chinese household, you can bet that I drank so much of this stuff- still, I love it! Known for its distinctive curly shape, done so by drying out the leaves under the sun and oxidizing them. I love it for its thick, woody taste- it also tastes delicious when chilled, even giving it a sweet taste!

Taken from Teavana.

2. Matcha. Marketed in powdered form, matcha is a popular tea found in Chinese and Japanese societies, although it’s more familiarly-associated with the latter. I love how it has such a strong, concentrated taste to it while at the same time being deep, earthy, and calming. What makes it even more special is that it’s used in so many food dishes, such as ice cream, cakes, even lattes, all of which are delicious!

Taken from Elite Handicraft.

3. Mint. This is what I drink pretty much all the time in my flat in France, since I can’t find the other types of tea listed in this post that are sold in the country. It’s simple, it’s soothing, and it gets the job done when I need something to calm me down while I work. I’ve heard Moroccan mint tea is amazing, so I need to try it!

Taken from Chowhound.

4. Chai. Fully known as “masala chai,” this drink originates from India and what makes it distinctive is the fact that you add milk to it, to give it that creamy blend which, for me, is like a warm greeting from a lost-long friend. I’ve had it straight-up, as well as in lattes, and it all tastes amazing!

Taken from Compound Health and Fitness.

5. Black tea. Interestingly enough, it’s known as “red tea” in Chinese. Not quite sure why, but all the same, black tea has a similar taste to oolong, although it’s more oxidized. All the same, I enjoyed drinking it growing up, along with oolong and others out there.

Taken from the Daily Mail.

6. Jasmine. Much of the tea I drank as a child consisted of a trio of constantly-rotating types: oolong, black, and jasmine. Lighter in color than the other two, jasmine is actually a scented tea, with its flowers infused into a tea base such as green or black tea. Probably my only favorite-scented drink, but good nevertheless!

Image result for thai tea

7. Thai tea. Just like with jasmine, Thai tea isn’t its own type of tea, but rather a blend of Ceylon and other aromatic flavors and syrups. It’s also the only drink on this list that’s served cold. All the same, I enjoy its sugary taste, and it works perfectly with boba, which I love, too!

What is your favorite type of tea? Let me know!

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

27 thoughts on “My Favorite Types of Tea

  1. Lovely post, you really described the teas so well now I want to dash to the grocery store and grab a few boxes of tea. The only one I can identify with on your list is the Mint Tea and true to your word it is very soothing. πŸ™‚

    1. Many times! It’s ubiquitous in LA and I love it. Granted, I call it boba tea but to each their own…plus, it’s Taiwanese, which makes me very proud! 😊

  2. I’m a big tea fan, too! But I’m very boring… I just like regular ‘builders’ tea. Milk, no sugar. Sometimes I’ll really push the boat out and I’ll opt for an Earl Grey.

    Love that you love tea. Very British of you! :-p

    1. To each their own! I don’t usually put milk in my tea, just drink it straight, but it can be delicious to add some stuff to it. Guess I’m “very British,” in that sense…even though I’m American!

  3. I love this list! Some I recognized because my grandmother made it for me as a child, while others were new for me – will definitly have to try those out! I’m a huge fan of anything with chai in it!

  4. As a big tea drinker myself, this is a fun post to read/reply to! I’m a big jasmine green tea fan (coincidentally my Chinese name translates to Jasmine Flower), so I would say that’s my favorite. My mom lived in London many years ago and to this day always has a cup of earl grey tea each morning so I grew up around that haha. Also a big fan of fruity white teas- peach white is so good and my weakness is Teavana’s Youthberry tea!

  5. I love this post! And Chai is the best thing ever!!! Also, random thing but a lot of Americans call chai “chai tea” when chai actually means tea. So they’re basically calling it tea tea which I find really funny!

Leave a Reply

