Travel Tag!

the 1-day (5).png

Hello, there!

Last week, Lyne from Lyne Goes Around tagged me in the “Travel Tag.” I’m very honored to have been tagged by her, considering that her blog, filled with all of her own amazing and adventure-filled travels, never ceases to inspire me to go out and explore more of the world. With that, thank you so much!

It’s been a long while since I’ve done a travel-related tag. In fact, the last one was over two years ago with the “Wanderlust Tag,” and I’m really excited to do another one since it combines my love for doing tags with travel! Basically, I’ll be answering questions related to travel (of course!) and hopefully, you can learn a bit more about me and my experiences around the world!

Without further ado, let’s get to the questions!

1. WHERE IS YOUR FAVORITE PLACE YOU HAVE VISITED?

Portugal, hands down. I was there last year in February and visited four cities (Lisbon, Sintra, Aveiro, Porto) and loved all of them. It was sunny, the people were so friendly and welcoming, and the food (especially the pastries) was absolutely amazing. Plus, the sites and number of things to do were incredible and with some good company, it made that trip all the more memorable. I would love to go back soon. 

2. IF YOU COULD VISIT ANYWHERE TOMORROW, WHERE WOULD YOU PICK?

Iceland! After hearing nothing but good things about the country from other travelers (including personally from a friend), I’m super interested to go there. Unfortunately, flights are quite pricey, even from continental Europe, so if I find a good deal, you can bet that I’ll book it and be off before you can say “Reykjavik!” 😉

3. WOULD YOU RATHER GO ON A CITY HOLIDAY OR A BEACH HOLIDAY?

Why not both? Personally, I love going to cities which have beaches (e.g. Barcelona, Lisbon, Marseille). Having grown up near the beach in Los Angeles most of my life, a combination of beach and city on vacation strikes the right balance of nature and urban, calm and exciting, respectively. Call me selfish, but I want them both!

4. WHAT ARE 3 OF YOUR HOLIDAY ESSENTIALS?

My 3 holidays essentials are :

  1. My phone. An obvious, but basically, it’s my lifeline for accessing Internet, using Google Maps, and taking photos all rolled into one.
  2. Sanitary kit. Consists of hand sanitizers and *lots of* tissue paper, in case that I don’t have access to a hand-washing sink or toilet paper. Usually happens when traveling, so it’s best to be prepared!
  3. My small notebook. I use this to keep tabs on every single expense while traveling, along with noting down places to visit and directions to get there and sometimes travel-inspired poems.

5. ARE YOU AN OVER-PACKER OR AN UNDER-PACKER?

I used to be an over-packer, but now after having traveled so much, I can say that I’ve gotten better at knowing exactly what I need (and don’t need) to bring on vacation. Still, I suppose that I still *slightly* over pack, but only for extremely-small items such as sunglasses or a book, but usually, I keep things minimal (but reasonable!).

6. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE THING ABOUT GOING ON HOLIDAYS?

To escape from the doldrums of work and school, even if just for a day trip. Sometimes, you really do need to recharge with some adventure!

7. WHAT IS ONE PLACE YOU WOULD NEVER WANT TO VISIT?

I try to keep an open mind about places to visit in the world, in terms of culture, environment, etc. However, I wouldn’t choose to visit a place which is currently having political and social problems, especially if it can be dangerous to the civilian’s, let alone tourist’s, life. From that, I would say to hold off on visiting that place until the situation clears, but generally speaking, anywhere is fair game for me.

8. WHO WOULD YOU RATHER GO ON A HOLIDAY WITH, FAMILY OR FRIENDS?

I don’t mind either. I would say, though, that when I go on vacation with my family, it’s more about taking tours, staying at hotels, and trying new, fancy restaurants every night; with friends, it’s very much running all over the city and budgeting for meals and attractions. Neither is better than the other, but again, it’s all equal to me.

…in actuality, I prefer solo-traveling and meeting new people on the way. Since I’m rather introverted and reserved, I like to have my space when it comes to doing things, as well as being independent and knowing exactly what I would like to see and not be hindered by other’s plans.

9. WHAT IS THE MOST ADVENTUROUS DISH YOU HAVE TRIED FROM ANOTHER COUNTRY?

I would have to say haggis in Scotland; it didn’t taste bad at all!

10. WHO DO YOU WANT TO DO THIS TRAVEL TAG?

Small World, Smaller Girl

Samantha In Transit

GYPSYBUS28

My Overflowing Thoughts

itchyfeetsblog

…and all of you out there with incredible wanderlust!

Enjoy! 🙂

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

12 thoughts on “Travel Tag!

  1. Pingback: Travel Tag! – GYPSYBUS28

  2. Pingback: Travel Tag: Travel far enough, you’ll meet yourself – Small World, Smaller Girl

Leave a Reply

