I’m Going Home! (and first things I’ll do when I return…)

Greetings, bloggers!

Now, having been living and working in France for almost two years now (with the exception of returning in the summer due to VISA purposes), I have to say that, while I do enjoy being here, there are times when I do miss home, along with the things that come along with it. From the food to the sights to everything in between, there’s nothing quite like the familiarity of your home country calling back to you.

With my current work contract about to come to an end (so soon!), I’ll be soon returning to the United States and spending the summer with my family and friends once more, just as I’d done so last year. I admit, it’s been another bittersweet year, but all the same, it’s been great. At the same time, it’d be nice to return home, for the comfort and love with people you know around, which is what will be happening soon!

*IMPORTANT* I’ll actually be doing a bit more traveling before I return home, beginning this first week of May. As usual, I’ll be off WordPress during then, so by the time my next post comes around, I’ll already be back home. Of course, I’ll be popping in from time to time on WordPress for liking and commenting on posts; I just won’t be posting until after I return. Just letting you know!

Any case, the other part of this post’s title is what I plan to do first thing before returning home to Los Angeles. Besides the usual, tedious stuff like retrieving my luggage at the airport, unpacking at home, and trying to fight off jetlag, I have plans to catch up with things that I haven’t been able to do in France, aka fun stuff. I’ve decided to compile a list to share with you, and perhaps I’ll get to them! Consider this as my “home bucket-list,” if you know what I mean. πŸ˜›

Here it is!

Five Things I’ll First Do When I Return Home

1. Eat good food. Now, this is not to say that I haven’t been eating good food while in France, let alone during my travels in Europe. What I mean is the diversity of ethnic food in my hometown, which can be quite difficult to find across the Atlantic Ocean. I’m talking about Korean food (especially their fried chicken and tteokbokki), “real American” milkshakes and burgers, and even my mom’s home cooking. Having been staved of these dishes in France (particularly Asian food), my taste buds are ready upon landing home!

2. Go to the beach. Growing up, I never was that Californian who loved going to the beach, just because I found it quite boring and didn’t like the feeling of sand getting between my toes. True, I’ve been to a few beaches in Europe, but I would say that Los Angeles’ still has my heart, even if I wasn’t a fan of it when I was younger. Whether it’s a matter of running to or strolling along the promenade, I’d like to visit the beach again.

3. NetflixOkay technically, I have access to Netflix in France, but in terms of what I can and cannot watch (due to country restrictions), that’s a different story. Also, I haven’t had the time to watch shows since October, just because I’ve been busy with working two jobs, blogging, and traveling. Also, I just never had the desire to, until shows like A Series of Unfortunate Events and Thirteen Reasons Why came out earlier this year. We’ll see if I can do so back in the States- it would be nice to watch series again!

4. Meet up with friends and family. Of course, this is a no-brainer, especially when it comes to my family, at least. Granted, I last saw them in December when they came over to Europe and we traveled together around Spain, but still, to see them again back home will be a pleasant reunion, at least for the first month or so- the rest of the time will be trying to get them off my back for work and school (as most parents do. Whatever!). As for friends, it’d be nice to meet up with my old childhood friends, most of which are still in the area, as well as those back from college- we’ll see who gets hit up this summer!

5. Drive a car. I’ve never driven in France, relying heavily on public transportation and my own two feet to get around places, which is refreshing for a change. However, I’d like to take the family car out again, whether to a restaurant, the beach, or anything like that. Technically, I could just walk everywhere in my hometown, although I would have to say it’s much more spread out and it would take hours to get from place to place- all within my city! While I’ll try to limit my car driving to the occasional hang-out with friends in the larger Los Angeles area, a simple cruise shouldn’t be bad.

…and that’s about it! Again, I’ll be off from WordPress until later, the next time on the flip side of the world. It’s been a pleasant year in France, I would have to say, but until then, I’m returning home. Bon voyage! πŸ˜€

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

4 thoughts on “I’m Going Home! (and first things I’ll do when I return…)

    1. Yes, I’m from LA! There are definitely cultural differences, and the 9-hour time difference can be rough, but it’s been a good experience this year. Thanks for the well wishes!

Leave a Reply

