I’m Finally Back Home!

Hello, bloggers!

It’s been a while, but after two weeks of traveling, I have finally returned home to the United States. Tired is an understatement, but in any case, I’m glad to be back. πŸ™‚

I have been back home for about two days now, and things have been pleasant so far. After an eleven-hour direct flight from Paris that went pretty smoothly, I made it back to Los Angeles on Saturday afternoon, where my dad picked me up and brought me home. Had a low-key Chinese dinner with the rest of my family (mom and sister) and after showering, I was ready to hit the sack.

The next day was Mother’s Day, and we had another low-key celebration at home where I cooked lunch for the family and relaxed otherwise. Granted, there’s a bit of jet lag, but otherwise I’ve been holding myself together surprisingly well so far. Considering that it took me about four days to recover from it when I moved to France, doing the reverse this time around is refreshingly better, to say the least.

Any case, I’m happy to be back, although I have to say it’s rather surreal to imagine that these past eight months away have flown by- if anything, it felt like a dream that I’ve just woken up from! All the same, I enjoyed it second-time around.

I’ll actually be returning to France again this fall, as I have been renewed to teach a third year abroad. It’s super exciting, and I’ll actually be moving to a different region to teach, which should shake things up. Also incredibly elated to have the opportunity to travel more in Europe and other neighboring areas. I can’t wait!

Until then, though, I’m glad to be back in the United States, even if it’s just for the summer. Despite the fact that I love being in Europe and traveling there, I’ve also missed being back home with my family, as well as enjoying the sights and sounds of Los Angeles, with amazingly diverse food to boot! This place is and will always be my home, so I hope to take advantage of my time here when I can!

Blog posts will resume daily starting from today; I’ll be putting up posts of my recent travels from earlier this month (Morocco, of all places!) beginning next week, so look out for them! Until then, I need to catch up on rest (and life back in the States), so later! Take care. πŸ™‚

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

13 thoughts on “I’m Finally Back Home!

  1. Welcome back! Excited to read about your travel stories.

    I’d love for you to do a guest post on my new blog site (check my latest post for more info on that). It would mean a lot ☺️

  2. It’s always good to be back home and have all the home cooked food. Welcome back! Look forward to reading your travel posts. πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks, Melissa! Yes, I’m excited to head back to France in the fall, but until then, I’m enjoying myself back at home. Travel posts will be up next week!

  3. After reading this post I thought to myself, WOW, she got to travel to all those places and here I am only travelling within Africa and a few countries for that! This has inspired me to aim higher and finally do something about that trip to out of Africa that I have been talking about for years!

    I am happy you managed to celebrate Mother’s Day with your family and got the much needed rest as well. I will certainly be looking forward to your posts and welcome back!

    1. Thank you for your kind comment! I’m jealous that you get to travel in Africa, as it’s a continent that I haven’t fully explored yet (only dipped my toes into Morocco just recently). Hope you can make the trip over to other places in the world, though! I’ll be posting my adventures soon, so until then. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

