The Unique Blogger Award!

Hello, bloggers!

Not too long ago, Smaller World, Smaller Girl tagged everyone on WordPress to do what is known as “The Unique Blogger Award.” If you know me, I love doing these kinds of blog posts, for they help not only to let the audience know a bit more about the blogger, but also allow them to pass it on and hear all different stories from others in this amazing, supportive blogosphere.

The award is simple: answer three questions proposed by the previous blogger, and propose three more before tagging/passing it on to other bloggers. Let’s get to the questions!

1) What will never fail to bring a smile to your face? Why?

Puppies and kittens…and I swear, I wouldn’t have imagined that I would write that even a couple of months ago, just because I didn’t think that they would be my Achilles’ heel. But now, well, I admit it! Guess I’m sort of that *secret* lover of adorable baby pets who would have to hide behind a tree just to cuddle them to pieces. ❤ ❤ ❤

2) If you could meet anyone, living or dead, who would it be and why?

I’m terrible at picking just one person, so I’m going to cheat a bit and mention two people, one living and one dead:

For living, I’d have to go with Craig Santos Perez, a Chamorro poet whose works touch on a lot of striking issues concerning Asian/Pacific Islander identity, post-colonialism, and family. Funny enough, we’re friends (rather, acquaintances) on Facebook, but it’d be really cool if we somehow met in-person! Perhaps at a cafe where it serves…spam musubi.

For dead, I would choose Edna St. Vincent Millay. Her poems are beautiful and rich with imagery, and they never cease to take my breath away each time I read them. She’s also known for being an early pioneer in women’s rights in regards to the LGBTQ+ community, which is quite astounding back in the early 20th century. I can imagine going on a hike with her in the backwoods of New England, where she grew up- that would be perfect for enjoying nature and discussing poetry (as I’m a Romantic at heart)!

3) What is one thing you wish you could do more often?

Put aside my laptop/Internet for the day and just read. An actual, physical book. I used to devour pages when I was a kid (and got glasses because of it), and now with the easy accessibility of the world-wide Web to keep us entertained for a lifetime, it’s all too difficult to remember that I used to entertain myself for hours with a book. I’d like to pick up that habit again, if I will myself to do it. #summergoal

That’s all for now! I nominate all of you to do this award. Here are the *unique* questions for you:

1. What is one food combination that hasn’t happened yet, but should? (Promote it!)

2. What does the word “artist” mean to you?

3. What does the world need more of?

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

3 thoughts on “The Unique Blogger Award!

  1. I love this! ugh and I totally agree with more time to read – I find myself wanting to so much but not actually really being able to 😦 Great post, kiinda wanna answer your fun questions :p

  2. Pingback: Unique Blogger Award | The Bookish Wanderer

Leave a Reply

