Happy Pride Month 2017 (and personal thoughts)

 

Image result for pride month june

Happy Pride Month!

Although I’m a few days late to the beginning of it, nevertheless I want to acknowledge it on my blog, since along with Asian/Pacific Islander Heritage Month just this past May, LGBT Pride Month is another one which holds a dear place in my heart.

As someone who identifies with the LGBT community, I believe that it’s important that we continue to advocate for our rights in an otherwise cis-gender, heteronormative society. Although things have gotten a lot better in terms of acceptance and inclusion for LGBTQ+ individuals, there still needs to be work done in receiving full rights with the rest of the population who don’t identify as such. In any case, I’m blessed to have been born and raised in a country (not to forget city) that is progressive on this issue, for it isn’t the case for many others out there in the world. Only thing we can do is to help and push for justice, breaking down boundaries one at a time until they’ve all been destroyed.

It’s amazing to see just how far we’ve come, especially in the United States. From the Stonewall riots in the 1960’s to the 2015 Supreme Court ruling legalizing gay marriage (which I wrote about here), it’s always inspiring to hear about people fighting for the sake of loving whomever they want, despite societal taboos and whatnot. Although our fight for justice hasn’t been the easiest, as seen in tragic events like the assassination of openly-gay politician Harvey Milk in the 1970’s and 2016’s Orlando night club shooting (my thoughts here), things are getting better and better with each day, and I’m happy that it’s happening.

One thing that has been on my mind lately is the *debatable* inclusive nature of the acronym “LGBT.” After watching a few YouTubers discussing this controversy (having been around since the term was coined), it really got me thinking about it. Some people have gotten upset that the acronym includes specific groups while excluding others, as well as having a problem with the ordering of the letters, i.e. some saying “GLBT” instead of “LGBT,” which implies priority over gay men instead of lesbians- not to forget that bisexuals and transgender individuals are always placed at the end of the acronym (i.e. you never see “BTLG” anywhere). Even though I’ve taken a Queer Theory course and had been heavily interested in the field back in college, it’d never crossed my mind that there’s even issues within the community itself. In my opinion, I believe that the acronym, while serving a convenient purpose for the moment, will become obsolete once everyone who isn’t of the cis-gender, heteronormative category(ies) receives 100-percent the same rights and treatment.

In other words, labels won’t be important anymore, and people can get by without having to always defend themselves for being who they are. Personally, I don’t really believe in labels anymore (I swear, I’m not a hipster), but when I was first coming to terms with my sexuality, I would agonize over it, asking myself if I was this or that. Even to this day, I’m not 100-percent sure, but it doesn’t matter as much anymore: I’ll love whomever I love, whether or not it ascribes to heteronormative standards or not.

Anyway, I think I’ve exhausted you with complex (and complicated) thoughts. I’m hoping for a lovely (and safe) month to come. Here’s to everyone in the LGBT and LGBT-supporting community- cheers!

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

8 thoughts on “Happy Pride Month 2017 (and personal thoughts)

  1. I am a proud ally of the movement. I know some folks from across the LGBTQ spectrum and they are worthy of their humanity and they also deserve to live their lives as full citizens having all rights afforded to them as straight folks do.

  2. Love this, I too am a proud supporter of LGTBQ+ people, their wonderful history with some of the most courageous people that ever graced this planet. One of my favorite TV movies was The Naked Civil Servant. It would be fitting to have it back on itv during pride month x β€οΈπŸ’™πŸ’›πŸ’šπŸ’œπŸ’•πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’–πŸ’˜πŸ’πŸŒˆπŸŒˆπŸŒˆπŸŒˆπŸ¦„πŸ¦„πŸ¦„πŸ¦„πŸ¦‹πŸ¦‹πŸ¦‹πŸ¦‹πŸ¦„

  3. I think the should be that there are no more groups like this but one movement for all. So many people in this world are not treated equally and this should be the main focus. I think the movement of different groups is segregating human beings rather than bringing them together. It should note be a right for a gay person to get married but all humans from all walks of life.

    1. Definitely agree. That’s why I find labels restrictive, even though some people need them to feel comfortable. My belief is that it’s up to the individual to choose what they want to do, e.g. label/not label themselves. Marriage equality should be applied to everyone and anyone who wants to marry, so I’m in the same boat as you!

  4. Pingback: Pride Week Tag! – The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

