5 Reasons Why I’m Not Californian

Hey there, bloggers!

As you know, I’m an American who was born and bred in California all my life. Up until the age of twenty-two, I lived, studied, and worked in Los Angeles, and despite having moved back and forth across the world these past couple of years for work, I still consider this Southern California city my true home.

However, at the same time I am proud of living in California, I also have come to realize that I don’t quite fit the “stereotypical Cali girl” kind of role that you might’ve seen in films, books, TV shows, etc. I’m talking about the bleached blond hair, the sun-kissed tan skin, and plenty of conversations that start with “like, you know…” and finish with “so sick, bro!” Although I’ve been a California girl (not the Katy Perry song) for almost my entire life, I’ve realized that I don’t do certain things that many of my peers, let alone people from outside of California, expect me to do.

That said, I’ve decided to compile a brief list of things which I do that make me “not Californian.” While it’s true that they’re based on preconceived notions of Californians (particularly, Los Angelenos), I thought that it would be a tongue-in-cheek reflection of my roots, as well as means to entertain you! Enjoy. 🙂

5 Reasons Why I’m Not Californian

1. Not the biggest fan of the beach. 

Image result for beach los angeles
Source: Youtube.

Again, this specifically applies to Los Angeles and other beach cities in the California state. It’s funny, because I happen to live about 10-15 minutes from the beach, and I’ve rarely ever gone in my entire life. I don’t surf, I can’t do beach volleyball, and while I love to swim, I rather not in the vastness known as the Pacific Ocean (pools, please!). I admit, I’ve come to appreciate the beauty and calming nature of the beach as I got older, but still, I rather not get sand stuck between my toes and just spend the time looking at the ocean from afar.

2. Not about that vegan/Mediterranean lifestyle.

Image result for mediterranean diet
Source: Cleveland Clinic Health Essentials.

Now, I’ll admit and say that I do like kale, as I find it quite delicious when sauteed with garlic or added into hearty bean soups. But when it comes to eating it raw, it’s like chewing on grass…not fun whatsoever. However, it seems to be the case for many health nuts and vegans, who swear by juices, low carbs, and soy meat to achieve that “bikini body.”

While I’m all for living a healthy lifestyle and everything, I don’t find diets to be the solution to it. I’m a firm believer in enjoying what you eat, rather than to make a personal statement about how eating meat is contributing to the slaughtering of animals, as some vegans and vegetarians put it (which is true, but don’t make it a holier-than-thou speech of promoting veganism when I’m not interested–please don’t be pretentious and just do your own thing /end rant). Any case, I do try to eat healthy, but by no means will I do protein shakes and juice-cleansing for health’s sake.

3. Don’t say “stoked” or “hella” all the time.

Image result for surfer dudes
Source: I Love Surfing.

Like it is with any part of the world, there’s bound to be some interesting lingo that people use depending on their geographic locations. In California, it’s all about that beach slang, with phrases such as “sup bros” and “that’s mad rad” peppered throughout the conversation. Two distinctive ones, though, are “stoked” and “hella” (latter more of a NorCal term, but still Californian through and through). I do know Cali friends who use both terms frequently, but I would say that I don’t, really. Perhaps when I’m really pointing out Californian culture to others, but in any case, I never really say “stoked” or “hella.”

4. In-N-Out’s overrated (sort of).

Image result for in n out
Source: Eater.

If you’re from California, then you must’ve had In-N-Out at least once in your lifetime. Known as the “Californian McDonald’s” (although McDonald’s actually originally from California–fast food pride, I guess?), In-N-Out is never without its massive lines snaking around the drive-thru every day, at just about any hour, it seems. Serving simple, but freshly-made burgers, fries, and shakes, In-N-Out is California’s crowned jewel in the fast food industry.

I’ve been to In-N-Out several times in my life, and I would say that the hype about it is just too much, i.e. overrated. At the end of the day, it’s just burgers and fries, and they’re not gourmet anyway, so I don’t quite understand why they’re so popular. Tastes pretty good, but In-N-Out’s food isn’t worth the long queues every time.

5. Casual wear is not my thing.

Image result for sundresses
Source: Pinterest.

…more accurately, Californian casual wear is not my thing. I’m talking about flip flops, sundresses, crop tops, etc. Perhaps I’m more conservative when it comes to fashion (not my thing, really), but trust me, I’ve tried walking in flip flops and I just couldn’t feel comfortable having the strap part pinch between my toes– how do people do that?? I also don’t feel comfortable wearing dresses, let alone revealing much clothing in the midriff or legs department, so I’ve never worn anything too revealing, even though it’s perfectly acceptable in Californian society. I’d rather just wear T-shirts and sweats any time of the year!

Do you have a stereotype of your hometown that you don’t exactly fit in with? Let me know!

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

13 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why I’m Not Californian

  1. koolaidmoms

    I live in a tourist beach town and during the summer EVERYONE wears flipflops. I don’t get them either. I have never worn them and think they are uncomfortable and you may as well go barefoot. I see the bottom of people’s feet as the walk, step out of them or slide off the sides. Icky.

    1. The popularity of flip flops will always remain a mystery to me… I prefer sandals, since they’re less likely to slip and slide around. To each their own, though!

  2. I was born and grew up in SoCal, and even though I moved away over 20 years ago, it still feels like home. Love the beach and miss it a lot. I love In n Out now, but not when I lived there. (It wasn’t popular at the time, nor the area). I agree, it’s not really a special burger, and the fries are sub-par, but I have to admit, it’s about the price… a good value. I still enjoy visiting, but can’t see myself living there again. Only because I already spent 26 years there. Really enjoy your list and your blog.

    1. Great to hear of another person from SoCal! The beach is certainly beautiful, even if I don’t like getting dirty from the sand and ocean. It’s true that In-N-Out is overrated, but I do respect that it’s one of the better chains with fresher ingredients and higher worker salaries. SoCal isn’t a sustainable place to live, unless you’re rich, and while I probably can’t afford to live here later on, I have good memories to reflect on. Thanks for the support!

  3. Haha, the last bit made me laugh. If you don’t like wearing flip flops, you won’t like Australia or New Zealand. We call thongs in Australia and Jandals in New Zealand. People wear them even in winter.

    1. Yes, I heard that Australians call them thongs, which to me is so strange! Californians also wear them in winter; guess the weather’s warm enough like in Australia and New Zealand, I presume?

      1. Brisbane and Gold Coast probably are warm enough. About 10-21 degree in winter. Never enough for me though. I still prefer cover my feet in the cold months. NZ is much colder. I didn’t go to the beach very often there. Way to cold to enjoy the water, even in summer.

  4. I always equate flip-flops to shower shoes, in that they’re only suited for helping to alleviate athlete’s foot (or so I’ve been told). Good to know there are Californians who don’t say “gnarly” or “like, fer sure” all the time. Oh, if you’re ever here in the Midwest and hankering for fast food, try Culver’s; I’ve always thought their made-to-order sandwiches and custards are pretty tasty. 🙂

    1. Flip flops are practical as shower shoes; I see people wear them when washing off in the public showers at the beach. Admittedly, I do say “for sure” as part of my daily lingo, which I would say isn’t half as bad as “stoked” or “dank.” I’ll have to pay a visit to the Midwest someday then!

  5. I am a Chattanoogan but I don’t seem to have a strong connection with the rest of my state except the two other towns I lived in for a long period of time. I love my city more than my state. Perhaps I am more alien than I realized. As long as I have known you I think you are way more Euro-centric than anything else.

    1. I have to agree. I’ve been to other cities in California, but I don’t know them half as well as Los Angeles. It’s true that we’re like strangers in our own respective states!

Leave a Reply

