Los Angeles: Food Edition #2

Greetings, bloggers!

It’s been a while since my last food post, but I’ve still continued to hit the streets of Los Angeles for some good ol’ grub. There’s a lot to catch up from this past month of food adventures, so let’s get to them! 🙂

The weekend after returning from vacation (in the Pacific Northwest), my family and I paid a visit to my grandparent’s house where my aunt, uncle, and cousin also met with us. We had lunch together and afterwards, we drove around the 626 area, aka “San Gabriel Chinatown,” where we popped into a boba shop to try its special sea salt taro latte. I’d been meaning to give it a go, especially when my cousin (more of a boba connoisseur than myself) had recommended it to me. That said, we got our drinks and drove back to our grandparent’s house to enjoy the smooth, milky goodness. There were also a generous amount of real taro chunks inside, which made me very happy!

Sea salt taro latte.

Earlier that following week, I met up with a friend near the beach for a cup of coffee. We met up in the late afternoon and spent a couple of hours chatting at a cafe; it’d been a whole year since we last saw each other and we had so much to catch up on. Soon enough, it started to get late, so we decided to get dinner in town.

My friend brought up the idea of poke, a Hawaiian fish salad which has been quite the trend in Southern California for the last couple of years. I hadn’t tried it before, so I thought it was a good time to do so. There were plenty of shops in the area, so we went to one of them, where we got MASSIVE plates filled not only with two types of poke (I got wasabi and California flavors), but also two scoops of rice and two sides (pickled cucumbers and seaweed salad). Essentially, poke is raw fish (tuna, salmon, etc.) that’s been marinated, and I found mine to be pretty tasty– however, the wasabi flavor just about killed me, since it was so damn strong! Not only did it burn my nose, but also my head! Being full was an understatement after I finished– I was still full even the next day! All the same, it was an experience that I got to share with a friend.

Poke for dinner.

Later that week, I had to take my sister to university, where she was taking summer courses. While she was in class, I hung around campus, visiting buildings and plazas in which I had frequented just a couple of years ago as a student. My post of that day can be found here.

It was around lunchtime when she got out of class, and we drove over to a nearby, food-central neighborhood for lunch. She suggested that we tried a Taiwanese eatery, since she’d heard good things about it, so we did just that. The restaurant specialized in Taiwanese popcorn chicken, and I couldn’t have been more satisfied with it! Delicately crispy and tender, it was also subtly well-seasoned that made it all the more delicious. Plus, it came with a big bowl of rice, soup, and side vegetables for a complete meal. We ended up returning with our parents the following week, just because it was that good!

Popcorn chicken for lunch.

A couple of weeks later, my family and I went to visit my aunt, uncle, and cousin in East Los Angeles, where they invited us for some Korean fried chicken (“KFC,” as I affectionately call it). Mind you, I’ve had my fair share of it throughout this summer, but I’m not complaining– it’s that good! We went to the restaurant where we not only got several flavors of chicken, but also sweet potato and bulgogi pizzas. Heavy and hearty, the tastes and textures were on-point, and sharing the moment with my family made it all the more enjoyable.

Korean fried chicken and sweet potato pizza.

After lunch, I went with my sister and cousin to the city mall, where it has a notable matcha dessert bar that I’d been interested in checking out– after all, why not? I got a matcha-sesame swirl soft serve with mochi and red bean on the side. Cost came out to just over $6, which is on the pricey side, but the strong, matcha flavor was worth it. It’d been a while since I had anything matcha, and I think that dessert really nailed it! Also a refreshing way to cool off in the intense summer heat, am I right?

Matcha-sesame soft serve with mochi and red bean.

…and that’s my update on my food adventures in Los Angeles so far! More to come very soon. Until then, bon appétit!

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

3 thoughts on “Los Angeles: Food Edition #2

Leave a Reply

